2017 Resolutions

Resolution means a firm decision to do or not do something.

At the start of every year it is the norm to make resolutions; however, it seems that almost always, most resolutions never fall through. As a result, I started treating my new year ‘resolutions’ as goals that I have set for myself because goals require effort to obtain.

2016:Β 

Let’s review my 2016 ‘resolutions’.

15844776_10154942704069433_6087003554749743105_o

Looking back on 2016, I was able to, for the most part, succeed in accomplishing the resolutions I had set for myself the previous year. Let’s review the resolutions in order:

  1. (Failed) For about half the year I slept before midnight because I needed to wake up early for work…but like most university students, being a night owl is almost like a part-time job.
  2. (Success) Every week I created a weekly schedule for myself by writing down what needs to be accomplished that week, and also set daily goals for myself.
  3. (Success) Historically, I was not very good at staying connected with friends, which is why I started to make an effort to check up on how people are doing after coming back from exchange in 2015.
  4. (Success) I landed an 8-month co-op that I just completed mid-December.
  5. (Failed) During the last third of the year, I did not eat at home as often as I hoped because of all the activities that I picked up.
  6. (Success) I would say I did a pretty good job in this category.
  7. (N/A) I do try to exercise for 30-minutes a day, but on some days I just don’t feel motivated enough. However, since May of 2016 I would do some sort of physical activity weekly. For example, running, biking, hiking, bouldering or judo. Towards the end of the year I did about 4 hours of physical activity a week.
  8. (Success) I picked up Korean lessons again towards the end of the year and continued to watch my k-dramas to self-learn!

2017:

Below are my ‘resolutions’ for 2017.

15775000_10154942703299433_7679746743977233027_o

What are your new year resolutions?

Leave a Reply

